History of the College
St Mary’s College, formed in 1899 by the Christian Brothers, has been and continues to be an integral part in the education of many young men in Toowoomba. Our success ranges from academic, cultural, sporting to spiritual development and our Old Boys enjoy outstanding careers post-school in professional and commercial undertakings. There are many proud and dedicated Old Boys who continue to support the College financially and enthusiastically speak with fond memories of the spirit of mateship and support that exists at St Mary’s College. The Old Boys Association continues to be vibrant and well patronised with its major contribution being the facilitation of the Clive Berghofer Arena on Herries Street. Below, you will see a summary of some of the important dates in the development of the College. The rich history of St Mary’s College makes it a privilege to be a part of the continuing St Mary’s story.
28th January, tenders invited for the erection of the School/Residence designed by William Hodgen HRIBA (Construction time 24 weeks).
26th February – Foundation Stone laid by Archbishop Dunne.
15th September – Br J.H. Hurley – First Principal arrived in Toowoomba.
28th September – School/Brothers’ residence – completed (as exists today).
1st October – Classrooms and residence blessed and opened.
2nd October –St Mary’s College commenced operations – 120 pupils – first student was named as William McGoldrick, having won a foot race from Our Lady of Lourdes Church to St Mary’s College. Fr McGoldrick was ordained in 1911.1899
This is just a snapshot of the wonderful history in the development of this fine College.